I received the following email in my inbox this morning..
David Baldaro,
It is my pleasure to inform you that on February 17, 2009 your information was reviewed and accepted for inclusion in the 2009 edition of our Registry.Presidential Who’s Who, each year, recognizes and selects key executives, professionals and organizations in all disciplines and industries for outstanding business and professional achievements.
This recognition is shared by those who have reached a distinguished level of success in their chosen profession.
Please take a moment to complete the invitation by clicking on the link below. We ask that you complete it carefully, as it will be reviewed by our editorial department.
http://www.2009presidentialwhoswho.net/index.php
As a reminder, Presidential Who’s Who is pleased to inform you that there are no fees or dues to be included in the publication.
On behalf of the CEO and our esteemed staff, we wish you continued success.
Sincerely,
MarkAnthony McGuiness
Chief Operations OfficerPresidential Who’s Who
134 Rockaway Avenue FL2
Valley Stream, NY 11580
Please complete the online link by March 31st
Nice – what an honour; an invitation to join an exclusive listing which will know doubt cost me something in the future and which will more than likely result in a torrent of further junk emails coming through to my in-box.
What’s really stupid about this email? Well 2 things. Firstly as great and as talented as I might be; I am not a US citizen so why would would I be even alittle interestedin this? And secondly, I need to complete the link by the 31st of March – which would’ve been like yesterday then. So I am that good that I can bend time in order to complete the online survey which asks for stacks of personal information? I doubt it!
Please marketers; don’t do the job unless you have at least two active brain cells!
93 Responses
Leave a Reply
BE CAREFULL GUYS, THERE ARE MANY PEOPLE HERE IN THE FORUM WORKING AS DEVIL ADVOCATE OF THIS SCAM PROGRAMM, AT THE FINAL DISCUSSION THEY ALWASY ASK FOR MONEY
Hi All,
I have been stupid and fell for the presidential who’s who. They manged to get private details out of me Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaargh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
At least i managed to get my card cancelled.
Wish i googled the name earlier, See they also call themselves, Princeton Premier.
Don’t be as daft as i have been.
Thanks for this David
I just received this email. It looks like there have been some personnel changes at this most “wonderful” organization.
The biggest problem is that I never submitted any information. This is similar to all those lotteries I won without ever buying a ticket!
Presidential Who’s Wh0
Dear Mark,
It’s our pleasure inform you that on February 15th, 2010 your information was reviewed and accepted for inclusion in the 2010 edition.
Presidential Who’s Who Each year, recognizes and selects key executives, professionals and organizations in all disciplines and industries for outstanding business and professional achievements.
This recognition is shared by those who have reached a distinguished level of success in their chosen profession.
Please take a moment to complete the invitation by clicking on the link below. We ask that you complete it carefully, as it will be reviewed by our editorial department.
http://presidentialwhoswhowebsignup.net/
As a reminder, Presidential Who’s Who is pleased to inform you that there are no fees or dues to be included in the publication. This email serves as a Final Notification for potential members who have not yet replied. Our publication deadline is approaching in early April and we urge you to take advantage of this once in a lifetime opportunity!
On behalf of the CEO and our esteemed staff, we wish you continued success.
Sincerely,
MarkAnthony McGuiness
Chief Operations Officer
Presidential Who’s Who
Well,
I am glad I have at least the basic skills to google! I recieved the same email this morning and thought that I would just check it out – even though I knew it was probably a scam.
It plays on our persoanl senses of achievement I suppose and maybe this is because we don’t all get the recognition that we think we deserve.
Think of all those actors who are doing a job that they love and enjoy and on top of that being knighted and damed and OBE’d (my boss got one of these actually – well deserved too). I love and enjoy my job but do you think anyone will tell the Queen that??!!
Agrred, but…Does the queen even have a job?
Got the same thing today in my mail…..looked fishy to me so I googled it…glad I did
Thanks everyone
Me too! I work for a government agency and thought this was legit. Glad I recognize the POWER of Google!!!!!!
To bypass the BS
Just got the same email.
Thanks guys
Well, nothing like making you feel more important than you really are to get some information out of you.
You would expect them to think twice about sending such rubbish to an IT Professional! We are suspicious of our own family!
Got the same email this week. Thanks for the heads up. At first I felt very honored but than, as always, I asked myself why me? When something sounds to good to be true, it is always not true.
I just got this email. What a scam!
You mean I’m not a key executive being recognized for my outstanding business and professional achievements and for reaching a distinguished level of success in my chosen profession? I’m crushed!
I know – devastating isn’t it! Took month of therapy to get over for me personally!
Dave,
Good news,
1) got one today (which is how I found your site – So you see they are here to serve you
2) Apparently they heard your complaint and they’ve extended the date to April 30th.
Go for it! ; )
I got one of these today. I was 99.9% certain that it was a sillyass scam. But my question: What info did “they” get about me, and how did they get it? Is it just a matter of getting my email address? Any info would be appreciated!
This is like the third variation of the same B.S. I have received this month. What will they try next. It would be interesting to see what percent of recipients fall for the scam. The last one I got I entered some interesting dialogue in the blank fields, of which I dare not utter here. Thanks for all of the info. on the scams that are out there.
Can’t believe I have just sat through a 30mins conversation with these guys humouring them. Then they ask me for $650 for being awarded, I am an Online Marketing Specialist – did he not think I would Google this company!!
I am also going into therapy because I don’t think I can live without my congratulations plaque!!!
Did you have any issues with this info you gave him? I filled out the stupid e-mail–and also, he called, I went through 10 min on an “interview” and then he asked for my 899$, then 699$, then lowered it to 150$ when I wouldn’t give him my credit card, he hung up. What he does have though is my address, e-mail and phone… any issues with that?
Very Good information,I have bookmarked your post, Thank you
The letter I received was via computer fax and it wasn’t even addressed to anyone…it said Dear Company Owner. Oh, so you are informing anyone at this fax number that they have been accepted for inclusion. What if the company owner at the other end of the fax is not an executive or a professional. What a scam and a joke. And anyone who puts this accolade on their resume should be embarrassed.